First post and a little more than 4 weeks left

Published July 26, 2013 by iwouldlikeacupoftea
Since someone said I should make a blog (I’m really interesting, trust me…), I did. Impressive. From September I’m going to York, England to study, and I thought it would be fun to blog about it. I’ll be writing about my experience there and pretty much anything else that comes to mind. I have never been to England, but I’ve always wanted to go there. So yeah, I guess this is my chance. I’m terrible at keeping a schedule and updating regularly (My deepest apologies to the handful of people still waiting for me to upload a chapter on wattpad after a few months), but I’ll try.

The end of July is approaching and my adventure is about to begin. I finished a book I started last November during Camp Nanowrimo and that’s quite something. Now I just have to edit it, which I’m not looking forward to But that isn’t the point here. In a few weeks, its time for me to grab all my things and leave everything behind. I’m going to England for the first time in my life. In about a month, I will be at a school abroad instead of the school I have spent the past year at. Its time to pack soon. (I’m one of those people who pack way too early and still forget important things) But how do you pack up your life in just two bags? How do you even leave everything and everyone you know behind without looking back? Don’t get me wrong, I’m excited to study abroad, really excited. But its a little intimidating to be on my own in an unfamiliar place, with a different language and a whole new culture.
I’m leaving behind a lot. My family, friends, home and my hobbies. I can pursue them abroad too, of course. But you grow fond of some places and start to think of them as home. I’m leaving behind my pony, who disagreed with me most of the time, but who remained my friend until now. My dog, who I have grown up with and who is loyal to me. Half of my things. Merchandise, my beloved books, CD’s, movies, posters, objects that I treasure and clothes. A lot of clothes.
I’m very good at overpacking. I like to bring everything with me, just in case. I’m rather fond of the things I own, despite them being simple things. That’s strange. They are just objects, but they all have a meaning and an importance, no matter how small it is. There is a reason they are in my room. I haven’t really thought about it before. I own enough books to say I have a decent collection, and I can’t bring them all. I could bring my favorites, but as a bookworm I have a lot of them. I want to bring The lord of the rings, because they are my all time favorites. I can’t leave behind the Harry Potter books because they were my childhood. (Owning the entire series in both dutch and English doesn’t help much) The fault in our stars goes with me because that book is brilliant. Do you see my problem?

Despite the small yet hard decision I have to make and leaving behind a lot, I’m sure I will gain even more. I’m going to a new place with new people. There will be a new adventure, a big one and several smaller ones. I’ll learn to stand on my own feet in a way that I never have before and I have to start all over. Again. Starting over is one of the things that lit a spark in me. There is nothing more refreshing than a brand new start and new opportunities. I can’t imagine what it will be like at this point. I can adjust well with change, but I have always had people I knew well around me. It’s different this time. But different is good.
Perhaps on this journey I will truly find myself and feel how its like to be out there. The world is bigger than were I live and where I lived before. I need to experience it, before old habits catch up with me. I can’t wait to meet lots of new people and begin over with my hobbies. I want to try new things and do things I have been afraid to do before. I want to keep my arms open and embrace change. I want to keep an open mind so I can see everything in its true form. Now is the time to meet people different and yet the same, to see who comes in my path. Some might only cross my path briefly, while others may tag along for a while. A rare few will stay throughout my entire journey. Its exciting. Its scary.

There is a chance I will fail. What if I don’t fit in or if I don’t find my way? What if I pick up my bags and go home after a few weeks? School will be harder and I will have to find my place. If I fall, I am on my own. There wont be anyone to help me up. I don’t want to give up, and I know I wont. Still, it’s always important to worry about every little thing. Right…?
Anyways, there is something terribly exciting about the thought of failing. Before you fail you are able to make it. You are able to achieve and to reach goals. You can grow and learn until you succeed.
Failing is a natural part of life, and everyone has to fail to gain anything one time or another. You grow and learn from mistakes. Yet I wont deny that its discouraging. Yes, it sucks. But you know what? Its okay to fail as long as you find the strength to get up. Its okay to make mistakes and doubt if you made the right choices. I’m sure I will. Its okay to be afraid of new things. Its really okay.
You just have to convince yourself not to let it stop you. I certainly wont.
This is a year I wont experience again. An entire year of my life. Well, not an entire year, but close. Its a lot. Its a small chunk of my story on this earth. Its my year. I can start over and forge my own way. I’m gonna grab that chance with both hands and let nothing stop me. Because I can do this. Because I want to feel more encouraged about going to school again. I want to be inspired. Not only by different cultures, languages and traditions, but by lessons, hobbies and everything around me. I wont go as far as to say I hope to enjoy school, but I want to be a little more excited to get up in the morning. I want to learn how to be on my own and how to deal with situations I’m not comfortable in. I’m taking a giant leap out of my comfort zone. I want to learn everything there is to learn and I want to gain knowledge about the unknown. I want to get to know a little more of the world so that I will begin to understand the questions asked by myself and everyone around me-
Just a few more weeks and I’m on my way to England and starting my studies abroad. I’m ready for this adventure. I’m so excited!
Image
Inserting a picture of poor quality, you’re welcome. Pony cuddles.
One comment on “First post and a little more than 4 weeks left

  • You’re going to experience a great year! And you deserve every little bit! I wish you all the best in the whole wode world and I hope you have an amazing trip! Much love, Maaike

  • Leave a Reply

