England!

Published September 3, 2013 by iwouldlikeacupoftea

I arrived in Manchester Monday afternoon. We took the bus from there to York, which is quite a long ride. I spent most of that time staring out of the window, because oh my gosh. You hear all of those things about England on tv, the internet, in books and from other people. I fell in love with the country even though I had never been there and of course my expectations were high. It was everything I thought it would be and more. It was so beautiful, and there were huge paddocks with horses everywhere. The landscape was too pretty for me to describe without getting poetic, but everything was green and there were old mansions and farms everywhere. I mean, these are the kinda things I would describe in my fantasy stories. Mind you, the picture is taken from a moving bus and by a half asleep person.

Image

Meeting my host family was great, they are so nice and I think I couldn’t have ended up in a better place. I’m living with another Norwegian student and I’m having a fantastic time here. It’s not very far to college either, so I can walk. I did take a wrong turn when I walked home and met a cat (It was cute). Then I asked someone for directions and got home safely. The family has a dog and we took it our for a walk, it’s adorable.

Image

I don’t even know what to say about the college other than Oh my gosh. It’s so big. Like massive. I’m gonna get lost a lot. Also our schooldays can be from 9-5, which is gonna be strange to get used to. I’m taking some classes that I’m looking forward to though, so I think time will go fast. I haven’t actually started classes yet as we’ve just gotten lots of information. We’re going to York Minster tomorrow and I saw it today, it’s amazing! I went into town with some other Norwegian students and had dinner, and York is such a great city. All the buildings are really old and beautiful, and I love it!
Image

I have to admit I fall in love with cities a little too fast, but how can you not fall for this?
Image

Image

I haven’t taken a lot of pictures, but I will try to take some tomorrow! I’m exhausted as there is just so much going on, but I’m also really happy and doing well 🙂

One comment on “England!

  • Det høres så bra ut, savner deg men er glad og stolt at du tok sjansen 🙂 Håper (nei jeg vet…) at du far et superår !!!!
    Stoooor klem 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

