Settling in and York

Published September 4, 2013 by iwouldlikeacupoftea

Today we met up at the York Minster, which probably is one of the best things I have ever seen. We came there just in time and found our groups, before splitting up into groups of 3. I ended up with an exchange student from China and one from Korea, and they were really nice!

Image

Image

Image

Image

It’s even better in real life. After that, we walked around in York for a while to answer questions we had gotten, which proved itself to be quite hard. Me and my group asked a lot of people, but somehow most of them weren’t from York and didn’t know. It was great to walk around on our own for a while and see all the beautiful buildings, stores, shops and cafe’s! I spotted some interesting shops that I would like to visit soon, one of those being the armoury. That’s right. There is an armoury! I might have been a little too excited about that and I can’t wait to go in and have a look. Ah, these things make me way too happy. I also walked past some other shops and a few of them were… special.

Image

Image

Image
There is even a Disney store. I’m also way too excited about that. There was a really talented street musician in front of it, so we stayed there for a bit and peeked inside the store. A bit further away there were some Native Americans dressed up and they played on their instruments and I think they did some kind of ritual. Not sure, but it looked cool.

Image

Then we were out of time and had to go meet up with the others. We were really late so we couldn’t stay for too long, but we got a brief look at Clifford tower.

Image

We walked around a lot before we all gathered (apart from a missing group) and went on a boat through York. I didn’t take a lot of pictures from that because I was afraid of dropping my phone in the water, nor did I pay much attention to the information that someone told us. We all just chatted and such.

Image

It was a big relief when we got to go eat, as most of us were pretty hungry. We ate in a Guild hall I believe, which was really cool!
It was time to go home, and I managed to take the right bus all by myself and get off at the right stop! So proud!
After a lovely dinner me, my host mother Julie and her friend went to take the Odie and her dogs for a walk.

Image

On the field there were four horses, and they came when I called them over. They aren’t broken in or anything, but everyone feeds them so they are really sweet. I’m gonna go there again and take some better pictures soon enough. There was a dapple grey one which I didn’t get a good picture off, but I have a weakness for dapples. And horses in general.

Image

Image
The horses were there so we couldn’t go through that field, but we went to one further up the hill instead. It was a nice walk! I have to be at the college at 9, but luckily I’m done at 15:10. I have a long free period though, so I’ll probably stop by Tesco.  Also, I haven’t played video games in almost a week and I swear the pain is real. I’m having serious withdrawal issues. I just haven’t had the time, and I’m not sure how well my computer will run games. I’ll live, haha. I just have to find my way home tomorrow without taking a wrong turn, haha.

Image

Leave a Reply

