Nanowrimo

Published October 11, 2013 by iwouldlikeacupoftea

I don’t have the time to do Nanowrimo. I can’t sacrifice my schoolwork in order to write 50.000 words in 30 days. Yet, I have done it for 2 years in a row and participated in Camp Nanowrimo a few times. I’ve won every time, although I’ve had a year when my computer turned on me and I lost 4000 words an hour before the deadline. Somehow, I still managed to make it before midnight. I wrote over 60 000 words in 19 days for Camp Nanowrimo and finished an entire book. (we don’t talk about the ending of that one. In fact, don’t ask me about that one at all.) I can tell you all about how fun it is before I start, because the first week is great. Writing 1667 words a day? Easy! Until week two comes around and your plot is running out of steam, your characters have started a rebellion or you realize there is a massive plothole.
Despite the occasional meltdowns that happen after passing around 30 000 words, it’s fun. A lot of fun. There are days when I have sworn to give up and never write a word again, but I’ve never actually given up.

The point is, I really don’t have the time. I’m at college, have a lot of homework, ride and have a book that is desperatly begging to be edited. Yet this happened…

Image

(I’m a messy planner. Sorry not sorry)
Yeah, I might have plans to participate… I know I shouldn’t, but I can give it a try right? I’m not aiming for 50 000 words this year and lowered my goal to 20 000. Knowing myself, I’m still going to get to 50 000 words, because I can’t give up. As long as my grades don’t suffer from it and I can keep my sanity, It’s fine. The main reason I wanted to participate was because I had a story idea. I only allow myself to work at two projects at a time, and I already have two ongoing. I need to edit a book and finish rewriting the other. But I am not spending the month editing and I don’t want to rush the other one. Says the person who has worked on that one for about 4 years. But hey, I had a good and interesting idea. It’s a leap out of my comfort zone as it’s not what I usually write, and it requires quite a lot of research. I want to try to outline each chapter, because it is really helpful. It also takes a lot of effort though.

National Novel Writing Month - Press Start

Picture from the Nanowrimo site.

So yeah, I’m going to give it a go and see if I can manage this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

