Half term trip – Part 1

Published November 2, 2013 by iwouldlikeacupoftea

First of all, this is awfully delayed and I’m sorry. I wanted to write it as soon as I got home on Saturday and before I left for Scotland, but I got a cold and felt too poorly. But but, better late than never! I might divide the Scotland trip into several parts, but I’ll have to see if I have enough to write about. I was also in Whitby on Saturday, but I have a bunch of pictures to show so that’s coming in a separate blog very soon 🙂

Image
Rievaulx abbey

This Saturday had an awful start, as I got a fever the night before. I’m not gonna go into detail, but it was bad and I hardly got any sleep. I knew going on the trip wasn’t a good idea, but there was no way I was going to miss out. I dragged myself out of bed the next morning, still feeling “a bit” feverish and got ready for that day. I quickly packed my lunch and cycled to college with some friends. Two coaches were waiting, and dropped of our luggage. Because I was low on energy and wasn’t feeling well, I slept for most of the trip. That’s kinda sad as I didn’t see much of the pretty landscape, but I glanced out of the window every now and then. Our first stop was Rievaulx abbey, which was a gorgeous ruin. The pictures don’t capture how beautiful it was!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

So Rievaulx Abbey was great and despite the cold, it was good to stretch our legs. After that, we went back in the coaches and drove through Ampleforth, which was a super cute village. They also had an amazing school that looked a lot like a castle. Imagine how cool it would be to go to school there! It’d be kinda like Hogwarts.

Image
Potter Hill

Next we went to Pickering town, where we were supposed to be picked up by the Harry Potter steam train after an hour of walking around in town.

Image

Image
Kaja and Helene

Image

Image

Image
There is no disappointment quite like finding out the Harry Potter train suddenly isn’t picking you up and you’re taking a normal train. A normal train. Sigh. Anyways, the train journey was spent by playing games and eating candy.

Image
When we arrived in Goathland, we could see the Harry Potter train which was really cool and exciting. It did kinda feel like arriving at the Hogsmeade train station with the crowd around us and the little bridge above. It was chaos, but awesome!

Image
Goathland was where Heartbeat was filmed, and apparently it’s quite big in Norway. I’ve actually watched it, and the garage was here. Honestly, this was the smallest place ever and being there with such a big group felt awfully weird. I think most of us felt out of place. There was the garage which was a gift shop, a pub and a few tiny shops. That was it.

Image

Image

Image

The ice cream was really nice though! There were also sheep everywhere. Everywhere. They were all really cute and followed the traffic rules.

Image
This was just half the day, and as I said the rest of the pictures from Saturday will be coming up tomorrow if you’re lucky. We went to Whitby, which was incredibly beautiful and an amazing city. I’ll try to upload another blog tomorrow. Kinda. But I’m just saying Assassins Creed Black flag just came out and I have been playing for an unhealthy long time. My eyes are actually burning. Oh well. I also have some essays to finish, but hopefully that won’t take long. Too much schoolwork considering we’re on a break. Anyways, I hope you enjoyed the pictures and the short bits in between because I had a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

