Scotland

Published November 7, 2013 by iwouldlikeacupoftea

A bit late, but after more than a week, It’s time for the blog about Scotland. This was the Highlight of the trip and it was awesome.

Image
Our first stop was Hadrians wall. Although it was beautiful when we were inside the warm and cosy coach, stepping outside was not pleasant at all. It was raining and really windy. Despite being from Norway where it get’s extremely cold, I was freezing here. Going on a 2.5 hour walk didn’t seem tempting when it was pouring down, but with (some) whining and moaning, we were on our way. The walk started at the bottom of a hill, where there wasn’t even a path. It was muddy, slippery and cold.

Image
So yeah, most of us were miserable before the walk had even actually started. Luckily, we got to decide if we wanted to go on the walk along Hadrian’s wall or if we wanted to go back to the coaches. Going back meant waiting for 2 hours and then being driven to where we were supposed to be picked up.

Image

Image
I should be ashamed for going back, but I wasn’t. Did I mention I was sick and battling a fever? No? I wasn’t feeling too great. This isn’t just a poor excuse, it’s actually true. Some friends turned around as well and we had a nice time in the coach. We just talked, read and napped!

Image
Crossing the border to Scotland! My first impression of Scotland was that the nature was absolutely stunning. Then I noticed the rain and the excessive amount of sheep. Anyways, since it was both sunny and raining, there were lots of rainbows and it was gorgeous.
After some more time had passed (I slept through most of it), we finally arrived in Scotland! This was the first time I had ever been there and it was super exciting.

Image
Once in Edinburgh, we made our way to the hostel.

Image
Our room. It looked better than I imagined, despite the fact that the pillows were uncomfortable and that the windows couldn’t be closed.

Image

Image

Edinburgh at night was absolutely breath-taking and I regret not bringing a proper camera. Although my phone is alright, it couldn’t capture the city’s charm. We arrived at around 6 and went to get Starbucks, before we went out to explore the city. I can only speak for myself, but I had a ton of energy and was ready to walk around.
Image
Anette, Kaja, Tora, Inger Helen and Helene.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Getting to see the city at night was great, as it was beautiful. It was also so quiet and peaceful to be a big city, which was interesting. We returned to the Hostel and ate candy/talked for a few hours. Perhaps a bit too long, because waking up to make it to breakfast at 8 was not easy. We didn’t make it to breakfast at 8 and it was full when we arrived, so we had to wait for quite a long time.
Image
This was the breakfast that was included in the fee we payed. A real Scottish breakfast, apparently. Beans, sausage, potato thing (I can’t remember the name, but this describes it well), bacon, egg, toast, a sausage and haggis. It was quite good, except that I didn’t eat the haggis. It didn’t sound very appealing, especially not at 9 in the morning. I don’t possess such bravery.

Image
Monday morning, we had to go on a walk. My friends and I choose the real Mary King’s close, and we didn’t expect much of it. We had the rest of the day off, except that we could go to a dinner (Lunch, I believe) if we wanted to. We had some time before the walk/tour started, so we grabbed a Starbucks and went to explore. Just so you know, Pumpkin spice latte is a life-saver when it’s cold.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Then we ran into this pretty building, which turned out to be some kind of restaurant. It was really fancy, but I didn’t stay inside long enough to take pictures. It all looked medieval and cool!

Image
Thought the name was a bit funny. Angels with bagpipes.

Image
Then it was time for the real Mary King’s close tour. I wasn’t really looking forward to it as I thought it was gonna be boring, but I was wrong! Unfortunately it wasn’t allowed to take pictures, but the tour guided dressed in a medieval costume took us underneath the city, where there were rooms that had been there for a looong time. They were real houses from medieval times, and the tourguide told us the history of each room and it was interesting! The first room was an old house were about 12 people used to live, and it was tiny with minimal furniture. There was another room which had two women and a dead husband, and it actually looked realistic. There was a room with talking paintings of Queen Mary and some other people, which scared me to death when they suddenly started babbling. There was a room that represented the house of a family with black death, and although she told us the history it was fun. We listened to a ghost story and because of my short attention span I didn’t really follow it, but the tour guide scared us to death by dropping something on the floor. We stood on the street that was a very popular street a long time ago, and it was now under a building. I believe it was about 6 floors high, but back then it could be up to 12 high! It lasted for an hour, but it was like we had only been there for like 15 minutes before we were outside again. It was fun!

20131028_122221

We ran into the woman with the most piercings in the world. Uhm, yeah. Since she was waving us over, we decided that we might as well get a picture. That was an experience.
20131028_132044

We met up with the international students and ate dinner at an Indian restaurant. We were with around 70 people… Serving 70 people must be quite the job, hence why the waiters were stressed. We didn’t have to wait long for our food and it was alright. We got loads of different things/small dishes to share on the tables. I had no idea what most of it was and did not taste it. A lot of it was really spicy as well, and I strongly dislike spicy food. Some of the things we got were pretty good though. I had no idea what it was, but we got a bowl of something that tasted like gingerbread rice.

20131028_132048

20131028_132122

Then of course, we went shopping. We headed off to Primark while stopping quite a few times to take pictures. Primark in Edinburgh is gigantic and has 4 floors. Surprisingly, it’s really organized! The autumn/winter collection is good. Surprisingly, I managed to control myself and not spend TOO much. I actually needed jumpers since I’m not prepared for winter, despite not needing the rest of the things I bought. Oh well.

20131028_132331

1457498_10202570893017173_20803223_n
This picture is taken by my friend Henriette and I’m stealing it (with permission) because she takes better pictures than me.

20131028_133751 20131028_133758 20131028_135743 20131028_154048 20131028_154316 20131028_154418

One thing that was really cool about Edinburgh, was that you could see the sea from the street. Sadly I couldn’t get a picture of it, but you could see the ocean from the Royal Mile. It was visible between the ancient buildings and it was awesome.

20131028_154059 20131028_154421
Kaja

We walked around until it was dark, grabbed another coffee and then returned to the hostel. It was getting late and I think it’s an understatement when I say everyone was exhausted. A lot of people went out, but we stayed in for the night and just huddled up away from the windows (It was so cold!). We stayed up late and chatted, which was nice!

20131029_104850
The next morning after another Scottish breakfast, it was time to leave. Now, since I was sick and felt horrible, I did not look forward to the bus journey. It was also sad to leave Edinburgh behind, and I wish we would have had more time there. One day wasn’t enough! That was the Scotland adventure, and I can honestly say that it was absolutely amazing. I would definitely like to go to Edinburgh again!

Leave a Reply

