Alnwick Castle

Published November 17, 2013 by iwouldlikeacupoftea

Alnwick castle has been the location for scenes in the first two Harry Potter movies. Here, the very first Quidditch Lesson in a philosopher’s stone took place and it was also the location for the crash landing of the ford Anglia in the second movie. If you’re a Harry Potter fan like I am, it’s a nice place to visit. It’s pretty cool anyways, even if you aren’t a fan.

Image

Image

I don’t know if you have ever seen a group of teenagers run towards a castle, but quite a few people got to see that today. You’re welcome. Sometimes excitement shouldn’t be contained.
Image
Image
Alnwick Castle was gorgeous! Prepare for a lot of pictures…

ImageImage

Image

Image

Since this was where one of the Quidditch scenes was filmed, they were holding flying lessons for little kids. There were two instructors and all of the kids who were in the lesson got tiiiiny brooms, so cute! They had to do exactly what happened in the movie (well without the magic part, of course) and had to learn how to properly pick up their brooms. It was so fun to see that they all actually believed that it was real, and it almost makes me wish I did something like that when I was a fan at that age. It was adorable to watch though 🙂

Image

Image

Sadly, we were short on time and we couldn’t watch the entire lesson. To be honest, we probably looked kinda weird anyways; the only others who were watching were parents. Oh well, you have to sacrifice something for Harry Potter.

Image

ImageImage

After that, we wanted to go eat. Since the food they offered at the castle didn’t look very good and we were too lazy to walk into town, we walked into a pub. None of the food looked really good, but some of the girls I was with decided to order anyways. Turns out they were sold out for what they wanted to order, and while the waiter went to check what they had, we decided we didn’t really want anything from there…. Let’s just say we stormed out of the pub and that everyone who was there turned to look at us. Awkward.

Image
This pictures is of the best quality you can get, and there is also a random dude in the background. Cool. Anyways, I can’t remember who took this, I just stole this from facebook because I’m a rulebreaker. Not really.
They had a giftshop, and although they didn’t have a bunch of cool Harry Potter stuff (they mainly had creepy HP character masks.. No thansk), I bought something. I just had to get the Slytherin pen, because house pride and all. To justify the unneccesary purchase, I told myself that I like Harry Potter and I’m a writer. Good reason, right?

Image
Anyways, that’s the end of our time at Alnwick Castle, and also the end of our Half term trip. It was great and an amazing experience, which I wouldn’t have missed for anything. (Psst, not even a fever and illness could stop me.) I got to see so many places in little time, with good company!

Leave a Reply

