Bonfire Night

Published November 20, 2013 by iwouldlikeacupoftea

This might be about two weeks late, but at least it’s up now. There you go, you’re welcome. On the 5th of November I went to the bonfire at the York maze. Since we don’t celebrate it in Norway, it was fun to experience a Bonfire night!

Image

Image

I like fireworks (although I hate the sounds) and love experiencing new years eve in big cities for that reason. But there wasn’t just a bonfire and some fireworks, they were celebrating the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who. If you know me, you probably know I really like Doctor who. A lot. And in case you didn’t know, that’s a fun little fact for you. The more you know. They played the Doctor who theme song, had a TARDIS and they had placed a Dalek on the Bonfire.
Image
It would ask a lot of a person to leave behind their lives and go time traveling, and I would do it in an instant. I wouldn’t even need time to think about it. That’s how much I like Doctor who. so, TARDIS. Bam. Cool. This post is probably just gonna be about Doctor Who. I’m so sorry. I’ll try to contain the excitement.
Image
There were performers and some people were talking on stage before the bonfire would be lit. The bonfire was great and the Dalek looked real (and it was really big!). Now, you can’t actually see the Dalek very well in most pictures, but if you know it’s there you’ll see it.
Image

Image

Image

The best thing was that it was absolutely freezing and that I was dying, and the bonfire gave of warmth. It was perfect, as I don’t know how to dress (not that I want to) for cold weather.
Image
There was another Dalek on stage, and there was an entire act of trying to chase it away. It was fun to watch, although a bit weird. Also, this one made sounds. It actually said “Exterminate” like Daleks do in Doctor Who. Ssh I’m not a nerd.

Image
Then it was time for the fireworks! I love fireworks, but the sounds scare me to death every time. I didn’t need to worry about that, as they played really loud music throughout. They played the Doctor who theme song and popular songs of the year, which was cool.

Image

ImageImage

Image
Image
As promised, the fireworks were spectacular!

Image

Image
This was definitely the craziest and prettiest firework I’ve ever seen, and I’ve experienced it in a big city two years in a row at new years. The ending was absolutely amazing, but as everything was a bit delayed my friends and I had to start moving away in order to catch the bus back home. It was a really good night, and I’m glad I got to experience it!

Leave a Reply

