A look back at 2013

Published January 1, 2014 by iwouldlikeacupoftea

As it’s now officially 2014, I want to wish you all a happy new year! I hope this year brings you joy and you can achieve the things you are working for 🙂
Image

Despite a troublesome computer who has crashed a handful of times this year and deleted all the content, I do have some pictures. I have to warn you though, most of these will be horse related. Lets just face it, I’ll just ramble on about my horse. I’m not even sorry. You have been warned. I wont be including anything from England, since you’ve already seen plenty of pictures from that.

January was quite the boring month, as far as I can remember. It’s a long time ago.

Image
We picked this shabby looking sweetheart up the 18th of January. I had to decide between studying abroad and looking into getting a horse, and I made that choice years ago. It wasn’t planned. I was taking riding lessons and I was content with it. But hey, if someone needs company for their horse and offers you a pony, how can you say no? Thori wasn’t my first horse. I’ve owned a horse before, a very long time ago. Since I was young, I wasn’t the one who took care of her. I did what I could, but it wasn’t a horse that I could handle. I had sworn I had left my pony years behind a long time ago, but how can you say no to fluffy ponies?
Image
When I daydreamed about my own horse, she wasn’t exactly what I had in mind. I’m glad I didn’t get what I wanted back then. So glad. We had a great first ride, where she was a dream. She obeyed every single command.
Image
Don’t judge a horse by the first ride. I discovered that the first ride, where I had people with me on foot, wasn’t a realistic behavior measure. The next day I took her out on my own. I was a little overexcited, I admit. She was being a little stubborn, but nothing I couldn’t handle. Until she stood up on two (well, she tried. Fat lil’ pony.), spun around and was about to set off before I hit the breaks. I took a deep breath and tried to turn her around calmly yet firmly. She refused. I couldn’t do anything without her taking off, and when the road is covered in ice that doesn’t sound very safe. I tried again and again, but eventually decided to get off, turn her around, walk a few steps and get back up. You can’t win over me. At least that’s what I thought. 2 hours later, an empty pocket that had been stuffed with bits of carrots and some strange techniques to try move her, I had managed to turn her and she had taken half a step. I’m not a patient person now, and I certainly wasn’t back then. I was frustrated.Things aren’t supposed to be easy, are they?
Image
Mucky pony

Image
These episodes repeated themselves countless of times. Several times each day. And it was tough because if we went on hacks alone, we fought each other most of the time. Away from home she would do anything to turn and go back, to not have to be alone or work anymore. Back however, she would obey me. If I was the one turning her around, I had perfect control the entire way. Despite the frustration, I grew too love her too. She gave me a reason to get up every single morning. She gave my day a purpose. I had to take care of her. She was my responsibility and that responsibility was what I needed. No matter how bad our hack was, all was forgotten once we were back in the stable.

Image

She would lay down late at night and allow me to sit next to her. I received a warm greeting every time I came to her stable, although I do except that was for the food I brought. It’s the thought that counts.
Image
I took her for walks as well and she would still stop, but it was a lot easier to control from the ground. I loved taking her and I think she liked it too. On my way back, I would jump up on her back and ride back tackless. After 5 days. Kids, safety first. Always wear a hat and don’t trust a horse you know can give you a tough time. I’m not a kid so It’s fine. Just kidding. Anyways, she tried me in the start, but surprisingly little. If I asked her to go faster, she would. If I asked her to stop, she would. It took so little. Making her turn or take another path before going home was still hard, and we spent months working on that. We took tiny steps, but we were improving.

Image
My bestfriend came to visit in April for one very important reason. We were going to see Mumford and sons! They are my all time favorite band and seeing them live was amazing. So amazing that it can’t be explained. We stood on the second row and sang along to all the songs! Ah, I’d do anything to go back to that time. I had an mock exam the next day though and we came home around 2, yet my friend and I didn’t really sleep at all. It went fine though!
Image
On Saturday we went to Desucon: fantasy, which was great! Its a convention with a fantasy theme, in case you didn’t know. We dressed up as Hogwarts students. It was my first convention like this, and it was a great experience. James Cosmo from a Game of thrones came and he had a Q&A. I asked him a question which was scary, but a lot of fun haha. My friend also asked him something, which I got a blurry picture off while I ran back to my seat.
Image

I took my pony to small competitions as she liked to jump. We didn’t do amazing and we certainly didn’t have a place in the Olympic team, but we learned to work together instead of against each other. No matter how much I messed up (Remembering courses is hard) she stayed with me and got me through it.

Image
As spring came, she got Ill. She did recover to an extend, but riding her was impossible. There were many days where I could barely get out of the barn before she protested. At least I became very good at emergence exits, haha. I quit riding her as she got worse after a while, yet still took her for walks.
Image
Image
Then we had 3 puppies and raising them was such a joy. They were adorable and so sweet! Seeing develop and having the responsibility of them in the summer while everyone else was busy or at work was a great. I used to take them for small walks and teach them how to walk properly on a leash.
Image

Image
Because of Illness, I had to put her down in August. Despite her stubborn behavior and the countless dangerous situations we were in, she was a good horse. Others might have considered her as worthless, but that didn’t matter. There have been times where I have wished to give up on riding her, where we were stuck in a dangerous situation. We would argue and argue, and we would both do anything to get things our way. Yet despite all of the tough moments where I’ve just been so frustrated, everything else made up for it. Early mornings where all I wanted was to get back to bed, but I’d go to the stable to say Hi before school. The hours I’ve been there to groom her, desperately trying to get her clean.
Image

We used to canter through the deep snow and watch the sun go down. I sat in the field in the summer heat and just watched her graze. We were on a hack in the mountains and came back exhausted, yet very pleased. We jumped courses, higher than I ever had. And the countless bareback rides we had throughout winter and summer. Cantering at full speed without any tack through green fields, teaching her how to “kiss” and “bow.”
Image
She taught me so much. She showed me that patience and tolerance was the key, and how I could be gentle yet strict at the same time. She showed me trust and proved that she was capable of loving me even in our short time. She tested me in every possible way, but she was worth every tear. She was the founder of most of goals within riding. Most importantly, she gave me a reason to get up in the morning. No matter what, she was always waiting for me. She was always there for me.
Image
Image
I also went on countless walks with my dog late at night. It was too hot to walk during the day, so we would often go back just before the night fell.
Image
I hope 2014 will be a lot better than 2013. I don’t really have any new years resolutions as I usually forget about them anyways, but I do wanna read 50 books and then finish writing/editing my own. So, Happy new year everyone!

Leave a Reply

