London Day 1

Published February 19, 2014 by iwouldlikeacupoftea

Saturday the 15th of February it was time to go to London. I had been looking forward to this since before I applied to the exchange year, and 80 excited students met at the train station. I took over 2000 pictures, so that’s gonna be fun to go through. Look out for a few blogposts! There is gonna be a mixture of pictures from my phone and my camera, and I’ll do a separate blog for each day.

Anyways, here is day 1 of my London trip!

Image
We took a train to London, so I was sat next to (a sleepy) Camilla for the entire journey. I had a slight headache because although we had to be at the train station at 9, I wasn’t in bed until 4 am. I will learn from my mistakes, one day. I got some writing done on the second book of the series I’m working on, progress!

Image
We slept at a hostel that was pretty decent and close to Kings cross, but also very purple. The wifi was also absolutely horrible. I shared a room with 8 other friends, and we soon turned it upside down.

Image

Image
Image
The hostel had previously been a prison and still had some of the cells and the signs.
Image

We walked around Kings cross for a bit and then decided to grab something to eat as we were all starving. We had lunch at Pizza express, and it was really nice!

Image

Image

IMG_2244
Heltberg International, which is the organization I’m on exchange with, had planned a theater evening for all the students. We saw 39 steps at Picadilly circus, which is a comedy. It was really good and if you get the chance to see it, you should! It was funny and the theater was gorgeous, but unfortunately taking pictures isn’t allowed.

Image

Image

Image

Image
We went to leicester square to eat dinner with 7 people, which turned out to be tricky for several reasons. First of all, 7 people trying to agree on what to eat leads to some disagreement, but we quickly solved that. When we finally found out what we wanted, we found out that most places were too busy to seat 7 people. We ended up waiting for 15 minutes and eating at spaghetti house.
Image
Again, I decided to go for a vegetarian option. So good!
Image

Image
Vår and Birte at the restaurant

After a good meal we went home and sat in the tv room at our hostel, desperately trying to get internet. I hadn’t been feeling amazing that day, but blamed my headache on the lack of sleep. Well, you know my luck if you remember I was Ill in Edinburgh. Guess what? When I returned to my room to rest, I just started feeling worse and got a horrible headache. It developed into a migraine and I got really dizzy, so I tried lying down. Not a good idea. Lets just say none of the food I had eaten stayed in and that I didn’t have a good evening. Luckily all my friends were super nice about it and I was able to lie in bed, listening to music until I felt better. I’m not sure what it was, but I suspected food poisoning. I’m not sure, but I’m glad it got better in the morning.

Leave a Reply

