The Crookes

Published April 18, 2014 by iwouldlikeacupoftea

On Wednesday the 16th Kaja and I were off to Leeds to see The Crookes live. I’ve been a fan of them for a while and had planned to see them in Norway a while back, but it was 18+ and yeah, thanks Norway.

Image
After walking around Leeds for a bit and grabbing something to eat, we headed to the Cockpit where the gig was. We were some of the first to arrive (which isn’t a surprise if you’ve ever been anywhere with me…) and stood at the front.

Image

Image

The first band on was called Carnabells, which I hadn’t hear of before. They were pretty good though!

Image

Image
The second band was called High Hazels, and they also played some good and fun songs!

Image
And then it was time for The Crookes! I wish I had brought my camera, but I didn’t so bad phone pictures all the way. Sorry.

Image

Image
They played a variety of songs from all of their albums, my favorites being “sofie”, “salparadise” and “echo.” I hate it when bands only play songs from their newest album, as I like to be able to sing along and know the lyrics. The Crookes did a good job at picking both older and new songs, which was great! I haven’t gotten the chance to listen to all the songs of their new album “soapbox”. My favorite song from the album so far is “howl”, which they played at the gig and it was a great song.

Image

Image

Image

Image
The rest of the band left the stage while the singer remained there to sing “the I love you bridge” alone. It was amazing and the audience sang the lyrics with him throughout the whole song.

Image

The last song they played was “Afterglow” from their album “Hold fast”, and since it was the last one everyone went crazy. Everyone danced and sang along as loud as they could, and it quickly became the hightlight of the night. It was so much fun. (Apart from when someone spilled beer on me and didn’t apologize, but I guess this has become a tradition as it happens to all concerts I attend.)

Image
Kaja and Russ
They were signing things and meeting people, so I bought their new cd “soapbox”, which is awesome! We queued to meet them, and they were all really nice and cool, although both mine and Kaja’s name brought confusion. I did my best to spell it, but I’m bad at spelling and my name is complicated. Also we spoke about Norway and them playing there and it was cool.

Image
I took a picture with Russ. I’m glad I look absolutely terrified, I’m not even sure why. Maybe it was the people bumping into me to get to the stand where they were selling merchandise. Also, I’m standing on my toes. I’m not short okay, he was just very tall and I felt the need to stand on my toes to seem taller. Win.

Image
Kaja, George and I

Image

Signed CD’s are the reason I breathe and this makes me very happy. Also, my name is spelled close enough, I don’t mind. It was a good attempt, even though I did spell it out for them.

Image
After the gig we basically had to sprint to the trainstation and we just got on our train. We were two happy and energetic girls on the train, so sorry to anyone who had to listen to us. Well, at least we weren’t drunk like the people who sat in front of us…
It was such a good night, one of the best, and I’m glad I got to see The Crookes! I’m also glad I have someone to drag around to concerts and gigs with me, hehe.

Image
tired, exhausted and with aching feet (Uncomfortable but very cute shoes), but incredibly happy.
Definitely a night to remember, especially since it was in such good company.

I wish I could relive that night, it was one of the best concerts I’ve been to! I know I probably say that for all of them, but I really mean it. It was fantastic and these lads are crazy talented! You should check our their new album if you get the chance, it has plenty of great songs!

Leave a Reply

