Little Comets in Newcastle

Published May 31, 2014 by iwouldlikeacupoftea

Image

Thursday the 27th of May Kaja and I went all the way to Newcastle to see a band called Little Comets. I hadn’t listened much to them before Kaja invited me to their acoustic gig, but they are awesome! And everything (well, almost everything) is better acoustic. Fact.
We got there at around 2, which meant we could walk around Newcastle for a few hours and it’s an awesome city. Not nearly as nice as York, of course.

Image

Image

Image

The first musician on was Matt Saxon from the band Grandfather Birds. Someone I hadn’t heard of before, but thoroughly enjoyed! His song lyrics were dreamy and soothing, and made your mind float away.  This man is talented and I bet you like them if you like calm, soft music that still has a little kick to it. I for one, am glad I discovered him!

Image

Mickey from Little Comets came and played with Matt, and it was awesome!

Image

Image

Image

Image

The next band was Ajimal. All of the songs they played were related to Childhood, and it was cool how they had a theme for the night. Clever Lyrics with meaning behind them, amazing voices and good mastering of different instruments. What more could you ask for? The singer has a brilliant voice and puts so much emotion into each song. However, I felt they lacked chemistry as a band on stage, which was unfortunate. They seemed to play separately and not quite together in most songs. Apart from that, they were really good.

Image

Image

And then it was time for little Comets!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Little Comets played a mixture of old and new songs, upbeat and slow. It was varied and fun, and I surprised myself by singing along to quite a few songs. They also played my two (current) favorite songs, Women Women and Dancing Song.

Image

Image

Image

Everyone (apart from a few) went silent for the emotional songs and everyone danced like mad during “Dancing Song.” The audience was what surprised me most, especially the rows at the front. They were excited and passionate, danced and sang and had fun, to such an extend the band itself seemed surprised. Not only are Little Comets talented, they interact with the audience which always ups my liking for bands.

Image

Image

Image

Image

What makes them so special, apart from their talent, is the way they play as a band. They are incredibly tight-knight and get along well on stage. They interact with each other without it being over the top, and play in perfect harmony. It surprised me!
You clearly notice they love what they do and are passionate about it, which transfers to their music. All the lyrics have meanings behind them that have or had an effect on the members of the band, and that shines through when they perform. They have beautiful lyrics and consist of amazing musicians. Worth going to New Castle for, and definitely worth checking out!

ImageIt wouldn’t be a gig without getting something signed, and two of the band members were by the merch stand so I grabbed my chance. They were both super nice! It was over far too soon (literally, before 12?) and got chased out of the venue. Our train left at 6 in the morning. Let’s just say Kaja and I aren’t the best planners and hadn’t thought of staying over night. It was a long night and I still struggle with getting my sleep pattern back. (which wasn’t great before, but staying up for 30 hours? nah). You see some weird things at McDonald’s at 4 am. That’s all I’m gonna say about that.

Image

I just want to thank Kaja for inviting me to this amazing Concert! I had the best time and it was a perfect way to celebrate the end of exams. Well, I still have English exams, but that’s nothing to stress about. There is so little time left and I have so much planned, and so little to do. There are two concerts coming up, and Yorkshire Comic con! So excited.

One comment on “Little Comets in Newcastle

Leave a Reply

